## EWinS 2016 - EUSpec Winter School on core level spectroscopies

**Date:** 1 – 11 February, 2016. **Venue:** Ajdovščina, Slovenia

The COST action <u>EUSpec</u> is proud to announce its first two-week winter school on core level spectroscopies to be held at the Applied Physics Faculty of the <u>University of Nova Gorica</u>.

# **School Motivation**

The aim of the school is to introduce theoreticians as well as experimentalists to foundations of modern approaches for studying core level spectroscopies from first-principles modeling to the most advanced experimental spectroscopy techniques. The school will bring together experts and early career investigators working on advanced materials science, with a common interest in high level and up-to-date sophisticated spectroscopy experiments and modeling tools. The school will be an extraordinary opportunity for students and young researchers to be introduced to core level spectroscopies and to discuss with worldwide recognized scientists in a friendly environment.

Regular lectures and talks will be followed by hands-on courses on the following three codes: <u>ORCA</u> (quantum chemistry), <u>WIEN2k</u> (full-potential all-electron), and <u>QUANTUM ESPRESSO</u> (pseudo-potential).

\* \* \* \*

For additional information and registration see: <u>http://ewins2016.ijs.si/</u> School contact email: <u>ewins2016@ijs.si</u>

**Regular registration deadline:** 15 December, 2015 **Regular registration fee:** 50 EUR

# **Participation and Financial Support**

There is no restrictions for participants with respect to age and/or title, but the school is limited to a maximum of 40 participants.

Limited COST fundings are available to support travel and accommodation for participants from the <u>COST</u> <u>countries</u> or the <u>Near Neighbour Country approved institution</u>. PhD students, postdocs, and researchers are eligible for refunding.

#### **Invited Plenary Speakers**

Maria N. Piancastelli (Uppsala University) Lucia Reining (Ecole Polytechnique) Frank de Groot (Utrecht University) Stefano Baroni (SISSA) Claudio Masciovecchio (Elettra Sincrotrone) Cécile Hébert (EPFL) Dimitrios Manganas (MPI für Chemische Energiekonversion)

# **Local Organizers**

Layla Martin-Samos (University of Nova Gorica), Anton Kokalj (Jožef Stefan Institute), Barbara Ressel (University of Nova Gorica)

# **International Committee**

Hubert Ebert (University of Munich), Didier Sébilleau (University of Rennes 1), Amélie Juhin (University P. et M. Curie-CNRS), Frank de Groot (Utrecht University), Maddalena Pedio (CNR-IOM), Jarmila Savkova (University of West Bohemia), Sara Lafuerza (ESRF), Nicholas Hine (University of Warwick), Yaroslav Kvashnin (Uppsala University)